33EMYBW, AYA, Deena Abdelwahed and more feature on upcoming Houndstooth compilation 'Alterity'

London label Houndstooth has announced the upcoming release of a new compilation ‘Alterity’, which will be out on August 28.

Featuring tracks by 33EMYBW, AYA, Deena Abdelwahed, Odete, AMAZONDOTCOM and many more, ‘Alterity’ is inspired by a state of “radical otherness”, using one’s status as an outsider to mainstream culture to embrace individuality.

It also draws on the potential for collaboration across the globe during lockdown, sharing ideas across borders and finding similarities between practices to embrace difference.

Read this next: 10 releases that make Houndstooth an eyebrow-raising imprint

On the lead single ‘Ritual for Rusting Metals’, Irish producer Lighght collaborates with Uruguayan artist Lila Tirando A Violeta to create a pounding mish mash of hardcore techno that speaks to dreams of a pulsing dancefloor.

Listen to ‘Ritual for Rusting Metals’ and check out the full compilation tracklist below, and preorder your copy here.


1 33EMYBW – ‘Medical Fodder’

2 Gooooose – ‘We've All Been There’

3 LYZZA – ‘Rifle’

4 AMAZONDOTCOM & Siete Catorce – ‘Absent City’

5 AYA – ‘DaRE u to sour lips with me’

6 Hyph11E – ‘Owl Whispers’

7 E-Saggila – ‘Shd’

8 Debit – ‘Primal Use of Wind’

9 Core Self – ‘Suspiria’

10 DRVGジラ – ‘Funeral Flowers’

11 Osheyack – ‘SAF E’

12 Deena Abdelwahed – ‘Abbrejiyeytar’

13 Lila Tirando a Violeta & Lighght – ‘Ritual For Rusting Metals’

14 Slikback – ‘Shogai’

15 Odete – ‘Epilogue For A Banshee Cry’

Jemima Skala is Mixmag’s Weekend Editor. Follow her on Twitter

Read this next: Get the best of Mixmag direct to your Facebook DMs

Load the next article

You may also like...